Due to Covid-19, I will be unable to do a location scout in person because of lockdown measures put in place by the English Government, therefore i will being using Google Maps for locations that would work well for my film.

Ext. House:

House, Thorney, England, Peterborough, St Mary’s Close

The locations I require will be of the house at the beginning of the film, the street in which Reed walks down and climbs into his car and the motorway, where 2nd and 3rd act take place and the films ends. I have chosen Thorney in Peterborough because it is a quite village that allows for easy filming and the house I intend to use is owned by a friend. My idea is to have the car placed parked on the adjacent side of the road several feet down so that when he leaves there is a long walk to the house from his car.

Ext. Street:

Street, Thorney, England, Peterborough, B1167

A quite street that will be seen from the interior of the car as he drives but will also serve as a stand in for the motorway when filming in a busy and built up area isn’t possible to accomplish.

Ext. Motorway:

Motorway, England, Peterborough, A47

The setting will be at night and I have experience with the area so I am aware that the roads are quite at dark which will make filming far easier. The motorway would be the most difficult of conditions to film in. To combat this, static shots would be used when the road is in view so that realism is maintained while other shots such as when Reed glances to his box of possessions would take place on a quieter road. Most importantly, this location will be crucial to the climax of the film, when the main character collides with an oncoming vehicle. The filming will take place on the motorway while the action of the steering wheel will be done at a street location for safety reasons.

(Stock photo) from ‘Fleet News

The main location for the film will be in the car on the roads. This is a stock photo as I intend to use my fathers car but due to Covid-19, I am currently unable to obtain a photograph of the actual car but this stock photo serves its purpose. Largely the interior will be used but there will be some exterior shots but not many as I want to keep the tension high and to do this, I will film mainly in the interior to create a claustrophobic atmosphere.

Leave a comment