After completing the delivery of my pitch, the idea put forward was well received and the feedback I gained will go towards producing a film at the highest level of quality. Before I had only considered the narrative aspect of the story and now feel that I would like to focus on a specific theme or emotion that will work to drive the story and the plot forward. The emotion I am intending to focus on is going to be a combination of loss/regret in which Reed starts at a very low place when his wife is kicking him out but continues to get worse and worse as he slowly comes to terms with the mistake he made which will lead to be at the very worst and lowest point he has experienced before which will cause him to take a rash decision and move into the way of the oncoming car. I have considered not starting immediately with Reed and his wife arguing, instead starting with Reed walking into the house and still having an exterior shot of the house and see the argument start rather than pick up midway through so the audience can see his progression from a state of wellbeing to one of desperation and understand the drastic impact of his actions but I feel as if starting the film with an intensity and high tension right from the off and will set the tone for the film moving forward, where this tension continues to be pulled and pulled, never fully releasing until the films climax in order to have a greater effect on the audience. This is something I will consider when completing my screenplay.

Leave a comment