Following the criteria, I used J and L cuts, parallel editing, graphic match, match on action and a hidden cut. I was unable to incorporate a jump cut or montage despite attempts.

I used a title card at the beginning so that I would be able to use a J cut as I begin to speak before cutting to the video clip. A non-diegetic school bell indicates to the audience that the two characters are beginning to run to the canteen.

When focusing on Mia, bird sounds can be heard in the background of one of the clips that show her walking calmly which I thought worked very well to contrast between the speed difference in both characters so I decided to put a bird sound effect that would continue to show this as parallel editing is being used.

A hidden cut is used to give the impression that I jump down from the balcony when in reality I begin to climb over and then we use another shot where I jump in the air and land on the ground.

Match on action is used when Mia opens the door handle and a graphic match is used when both characters walk towards the camera to show they are both heading to the same destination.

I put an end credits sequence at the end to give the film a good closing and I knew that no one else was using it and I wanted my film to have a unique element to it. This would also allow me to use an L-cut at the end as the background noise continued to the credits sequence.

Leave a comment